Fastspot Wins Five Communicator Awards


On April 30, the winners of the 18th annual Communicator Awards were announced, and Fastspot was among them. The Baltimore-based interactive agency received five awards: a Gold Award of Excellence, for the Bay State College Viewbook, and four Silver Awards of Distinction, for Notre Dame of Maryland University’s website, the Walters Art Museum’s Works of Art site, and the Tufts University Admissions site and Virtual Tour.

The Bay State digital viewbook is a responsive “one-pager” that students can interact with; its theme is “Driven,” exploring what drives Bay State students to succeed both during and after college. Notre Dame of Maryland University’s site, launched to coincide with the school’s designation change from college to university, combines beautiful design with intuitive site navigation. The Walters Art Museum’s Works of Art site brings the museum’s online collection to life, allowing users to explore art objects and create their own “collections” to share with others through social media outlets.

The Tufts University Virtual Tour zooms in on the academics, allowing users to either take a pre-planned tour or design their own by selecting classes they might take and activities they might do. Tufts’ admissions magazine, created collaboratively by Fastspot and Neustadt Creative Marketing, transformed the traditional suite of print admissions materials into a beautifully designed, easy-to-update online admissions magazine that will be printed and mailed to those in the admissions funnel three times a year.

The Communicator Awards honor creative excellence among communication professionals. The annual international competition honors the best in the ever-changing fields of public relations, advertising, corporate communications, and identity work for print, interactive, video, and audio.

More than 6,000 entries were submitted this year by ad agencies, production firms, interactive agencies, production firms, graphic designers, and other creatives. The winners were chosen by members of the International Academy of the Visual Arts, an invitation-only organization of industry-leading professionals in marketing, media, and advertising.